What is Islam?

The word “Islam” is an Arabic word that means submitting and surrendering your will to Almighty God. The religion of Islam is the acceptance of and obedience to the teachings of God, which He revealed to His last Prophet Muhammad (pbuh).


There are six articles to belief;

        1. Belief in God.
        2. Belief in the Angels.
        3. Belief in God’s revealed books.
        4. Belief in the Prophets.
        5. Belief in the Day of Judgment.


          • Belief in God is to believe that He is One, The Creator, Sustainer, Provider, and the One who disposes of all affairs.
          • Belief in the angels is to believe that they exist and that they are honored creatures. Angels are created from light, who worship God alone, obey Him, and act only on His command. Among the angels is Gabriel, who brought down the Quran to Prophet Muhammad (pbuh).
          • Belief in Allah”s revealed books and Prophets means that Allah sent messengers like Noah, Abraham Moses, Jesus, Muhammad (pbuh). And the books that came with them like the Torah, Zaboor (Psalms), Injeel, Quran to call people to worship Allah alone, associating nothing with him. He sent the Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) as the last messenger, and abrogated all the previous books with the Quran.
          • Belief in the Day of Judgment is to belief that the Day of Resurrection, when all people will be resurrected for Allah’s judgment according to their beliefs and deeds
          • Belief in Al-Qadr is believing in divine predestination. So everything good or bad that happens or takes place according to what Allah has foreordained.

Divine predestination includes belief in four things;

In your testimony of faith there are seven conditions;

          1. Allah knows everything. He knows what has happened and what will happen.
          2. Allah has recorded all that has happened and all that will happen.
          3. Whatever Allah wills to happen, happens. And whatever He wills not to happen, doesn’t happen.
          4. Allah is the creator of everything .

Divine predestination includes belief in four things;

          1. Knowledge which negates ignorance.
          2. Certainty which negates doubt.
          3. Sincerity and purity of intent which negates shirk (The sin of idolatry or associating partners, beings or things with Allah)
          4. Truthfulness which negates hypocrisy.
          5. Love and devotion which negates disdain of  Allah’s Deen (religion).
          6. Submission which negates disobedience.
          7. Acceptance which negates rejection of denial.Pillars of Islam

There are five pillars in Islam;

          1.  Shahadah – Declaration of Faith.
          2. Salat – The offering of prayers five times a day.
          3. Zakat – The welfare due to giving money to provide for the poor.
          4. Saum – Fasting during the month of Ramadan.
          5. Hajj – Making a Pilgrimage to Mecca (At least Once in your life-time).

These five pillars are of great importance in Islam. They are not the whole of Islam but Islam would be incomplete without them.

The Beginning;

slam came to reform human society. It came to encourage the good form from the other revealed books and to discourage and modify the bad that people were doing.Register here